Long ago…

“…and he upholds the universe by the word of his power.” photoTwo typhoons back to back was actually nice because I only had to move the fake grass and sage plant (that I was gifted and don’t really know what to do with) off the porch once.

The storms didn’t end up being very bad, and were a nice excuse to gather with neighbors, watch movies, and play games.

photo (2)We enjoyed playing “take one,” a family favorite spanning generations. I can’t help but miss the old scrabble bags, heavy with luxurious real velvet. They felt special. They weren’t see through.

The sun is back, and with it, my desire to again find a rhythm. A schedule. A fluid schedule. Perhaps just some river banks so the water flows in a certain direction though it sometimes has a mind of its own.

I enjoy my for now “always” things.

Romans.

Tea each day.

I started adding this homemade ginger electrolyte drink to hot water, and it makes a delicious ginger tea.

Sunday evenings have become an “always” for me. A thread. Each Sunday evening, I listen to a sermon podcast from our church in San Diego, Community Bible Church of North County. There’s an open invitation for neighbors in our building, and most weeks, 8-10 people join. We started back at the beginning of Mark.

It is the word rightly divided that informs my life.

But still…

I’ve been struggling. Feelings that I should be doing things that I’m not doing. “You should explore more.” “You’re missing out on the Island.” “What have you even accomplished today?” Feelings that are all self focused.

While I do pray and desire to be a good steward of the time that I have, because these thoughts are all focused on myself, they give me pause.

C has helped immensely by pointing me to the truth, and one comfort has come from a portion of truth that we have both been thinking on lately. Thinking and sinking into this truth makes me small and him big. I like that. I need that.

The Supremacy of God’s Son

“Long ago, at many times and in many ways, God spoke to our fathers by the prophets, but in these last days he has spoken to us by his Son, whom he appointed the heir of all things, through whom also he created the world. He is the radiance of the glory of God and the exact imprint of his nature, and he upholds the universe by the word of his power. After making purification for sins, he sat down at the right hand of the Majesty on high, having become as much superior to angels as the name he has inherited is more excellent than theirs.”

Hebrews 1:1-4 ESV

Read it again.

This entry was published on October 9, 2013 at 12:56 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

